New Zealand and Pacific Winners at the 2007 WSA Award

New Zealand and the Pacific have been successful at the 2007 WSA Award judging. New Zealand had two winners in the e-Science and e-Culture sections. As well as three special mentions in the e-Entertainment, e-Health and e-Inclusion sections. Fiji won an award for their entry in the e-Culture section.

See full press release.

Showcase of New Zealand and the Pacific Finalists 2007

In 2007 selected entries from New Zealand and the Pacific will be judged at the World Summit Award in Croatia. Previous years have provided winners and highly commended projects.

There is a special emphasis on those projects that show the benefits of information and communication technology for the development of communities and society at large. Impressively, against entries from 136 other countries, New Zealand won two awards at the first summit held in Geneva in 2003.

Again New Zealand's submissions did extremely well in 2005. The finalists were evaluated with entrants from 196 other countries by the WSA 2005 Grand Jury in Bahrain and New Zealand received Special Mentions for two of the eights projects submitted.

New Zealand's submissions for judging in 2007:

e-Culture - Te Puia
e-Entertainment - Cube
e-Government - Te Ara
e-Health - The Kitchen
e-Inclusion - Kete
e-Learning - Hector's World
e-Science - Geneious
e-Business - Ponoko

Submissions from the Pacific for judging in 2007:

e-Culture - PGIS
e-Government - Fiji Government Portal
e-Health - The Pacific Open Learning Health Net
e-Inclusion - People First
e-Science - Ranet